Absolute Beauty (Daily Prompt challenge)

We’ve all heard that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Do you agree? is all beauty contingent on a subjective point of view?

I have a sad obsession with beauty pageants. They stand for what I will never be, tall (okay I’m 5’ 10” but), thin, pretty, clear skinned (notice how I didn’t say fair even thought that’s what sells in India’s pageants) and perfect in heels (if I could walk properly in trainers my day would be made).

“I’m not pretty, I’m beautiful.”

I sadly forget where I read this quote but it has had a deep profound impact on me. The two words, pretty and beautiful, so different but yet so similar.

The meaning for these two words according to the oxford dictionary is

Pretty- (Of a person, especially a woman or child) attractive in a delicate way without being truly beautiful:

a pretty little girl with an engaging grin

Beautiful- Pleasing the senses or mind aesthetically:

beautiful poetry a beautiful young woman

After I read that I was in shock, I always that pretty was physically pretty and beautiful, pretty from inside, from where it matters from the heart. Looks like I should just go sit in a corner and cry.

But then getting back to the question what is pretty? What is beautiful?

Isn’t beauty who you are a person and how many life’s you touch? Isn’t beauty in the eye of the beholder. Isn’t beauty only skin deep. Personally I’m of the view that beauty is the prettiness you add to the world, to the life’s you touch, the smiles you trigger. Giving beauty a name is difficult there is beauty in all of us it just needs to be triggered.

Forever confused,

Sitara

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/absolute-beauty/

3 thoughts on “Absolute Beauty (Daily Prompt challenge)

  1. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the
    video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you
    could be giving us something enlightening to read?

    1. First of all thankyou so much for using a bit of your valuable time to read my blog 🙂 i’m sorry i couldn’t see your comment earlier i hadn’t really checked the spam section of the comments.
      I’m slightly confused here, the post had didn’t have any video as such. were you talking about videos in the blog as a whole?
      Thankyou for your honest feedback though. Really appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

